## JOINT STATEMENT OF THE MINISTERS OF CULTURE OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

On Wednesday 7 January 2015, a terrorist attack on the offices of the satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo in Paris killed 12 people, most of them journalists and artists working for the magazine.

Despite regular death threats, they had vowed to continue expressing their freedom to think and to create with humour and talent. They were murdered because they drew and published cartoons.

This unspeakable act was intended to silence them forever, to terminate the publication of the magazine and more broadly, to restrict the freedom to think, to speak and to create. These freedoms are core values of European democracy. They are universal democratic values.

In this time of profound sadness and grief, we, the ministers of culture of the European Union, condemn this senseless barbarity, which attempts to undermine our essential values in the most violent way.

We unanimously express our belief that artistic freedom and freedom of expression stand firm and unflinching at the heart of our common European values. France and her allies in the EU safeguard these values and promote them in the world. We affirm our determination to continue to do so in the future.

We, the ministers of culture of the European Union, do not accept terrorists' attempts to impose their own standards. Since time immemorial, the arts have been an inspiration for reflection giving rise to new ideas and fighting against intolerance and ignorance. It is the freedom of expression in a culturally diverse environment that brings these ideas into meaningful dialogue.

We, the ministers of culture of the European Union, stand in solidarity to defend the freedom of expression and vow to protect the rights of artists to create freely.

Dace **MELBĀRDE** Minister for Culture Holder of Rotating EU Council Presidency Latvia

Josef **OSTERMAYER** Federal Minister for Arts and Culture, Constitution and Media Austria Fleur **PELLERIN** Minister for Culture and Communication France

Joëlle **MILQUET** Vice Minister President of the Frenchspeaking Community and Minister for Education, Culture and Childhood Belgium

## Jean-Claude MARCOURT Vice Minister President of the Frenchspeaking Community and Minister for

Higher Education, Research and Media Belgium

## Isabelle WEYKMANS

Vice-minister-president of the German-Speaking Community and minister of Culture, Employment and Tourism Belgium

Sven **GATZ** Flemish Minister for Culture, Media, Youth and Brussels Belgium

Vezhdi **RASHIDOV** Minister for Culture Bulgaria

Prof. Costas **KADIS** Minister for Education and Culture Cyprus

Daniel **HERMAN** Minister for Culture Czech Republic

Ph.D Andrea ZLATAR VIOLIĆ Minister of Culture Croatia

Prof. Monika **GRÜTTERS** Minister of State for Culture and Media Germany

Marianne **JELVED** Minister for Culture Denmark José Ignacio **WERT ORTEGA** Minister for Education, Culture and Sport Spain

Urve **TIIDUS** Minister of Culture Estonia

Pia **VIITANEN** Minister of Culture and Housing Finland

Zoltán **BALOG** Minister of Human Capacities Hungary

Konstantinos **TASOULAS** Minister of Culture and Sports Hellenic Republic

Heather **HUMPHREYS** Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Ireland

Dario **FRANCESCHINI** Minister of Cultural Heritage and Activities and of Tourism Italy

Šarūnas **BIRUTIS** Minister for Culture Lithuania

Maggy **NAGEL** Minister for Culture Luxembourg

Dr. Owen **BONNICI** Ministry for Justice, Culture and Local Government Malta Dr. Jet **BUSSEMAKER** Minister for Education, Culture and Science The Netherlands

Sander **DEKKER** State Secretary for Education, Culture and Science The Netherlands

Prof. Małgorzata **OMILANOWSKA** Minister of Culture and National Heritage Poland

Jorge Barreto **XAVIER** Secretary of State for Culture Portugal Ioan **VULPESCU** Minister for Culture Romania

M.Sc. Julijana **BIZJAK MLAKAR** Minster for Culture Slovenia

Marek **MAĎARIČ** Minister for Culture Slovak Republic

Alice **BAH KUHNKE** Minister for Culture Sweden

Ed VAIZEY Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy United Kingdom